PlayStation 5 reveal teaser

Jenni Lada for Siliconera:

Sony has confirmed the PlayStation 5 reveal event. On June 4, 2020 at 1pm PT/4pm ET/9pm BST/10pm CEST, there will be a video presentation going over upcoming games.

[…]

This also comes as another bit of news about PlayStation 5 games came up. Eurogamer recently noted that Sony was asking newly submitted PlayStation 4 games after a certain point be PlayStation 5 compatible too.

I love the look of the DualSense controller Sony showed off in April and I’m hopeful the console itself will have a similar look and feel. I’d love for it to have a reduced form factor than the original PS4 and Xbox One units, though I understand that’s a tall order considering the power and size of the internals.

In terms of importance, while I’m interested in the final look of the hardware, it’ll ultimately be the games that will drive my decision in purchasing the console. I’ve been happy playing PC for the past year and without any big exclusives or features, I don’t know how eager I’ll be to run out and grab a new system.

On a sidenote, speaking of games, it’s an interesting dance they’re doing with the release of current generation games in the next few months and a new console by year’s end, clearly why they’re pushing for remaining PS4 releases to be compatible with the upcoming PS5.

Honeslty, I have mixed feelings about this whole next generation of consoles. On one hand, I’m excited to see what the PlayStation 5 and Xbox (or Series X… I guess?) bring to the table but I’m convinced this will be the last generation of consoles as we know them. With the surge of companies trying to make game streaming work, including Sony and Microsoft, it seems like a matter of time until one of them gets it right and, at that point, hardware like the PS5 and Xbox Series X won’t matter.